Since 1854 • Bay St. Louis, MISSISSIPPI


Fifty-three young men received their high school diplomas during the Saint Stanislaus Commencement Exercises on Saturday, May 27, at Our Lady of the Gulf Catholic Church in Bay St. Louis, MS. The conferral of diplomas and the presentation of a number of graduation awards to members of the class followed a Baccalaureate Mass, which was celebrated by Bishop Louis Kihneman III, Bishop of the Diocese of Biloxi and concelebrated by priests from the Mississippi Gulf Coast.

Honors Diplomas and medallions were presented to Vincent Almerico, James Benigno, Corbin Blanchard, Nathan Bulot, Drew Burnett, Andrew Elkins, Malone Harrison, Michael Ingram, Leyton Janowsky, John David Luffey, Michael Nolan, Magruder O’Bannon, Cody Peranich, Richard Schaefer, Seth Taylor, and Matthew Townsend.

The Hancock County Chamber of Commerce Award was presented to Ross Wikoff in recognition of the qualities of scholarship and character.

Corbin Blanchard received The Scholar-Athlete Award in recognition of excellence in both scholarly and athletic endeavors and for lettering in at least two varsity sports.

Levi Knight was named The Jeanne Simon Award recipient for being an unheralded influence for good on the Saint Stanislaus community.

The Saint Stanislaus Alumni Association Award was presented to Nicholas Hertz in recognition for concern for his fellow man through projects involving the corporal and spiritual works of mercy.

The American Legion Award was given by the Clement R. Bontemps, Post #139 of The American Legion to Corbin Blanchard in recognition of his service to his community as well as his demonstration of the high qualities of honor, courage, scholarship, leadership, service, companionship and character.

The Conduct Award for a Resident Student was given to James Gagnon in recognition of his whole-hearted cooperation, which has been a source of inspiration and good example to the entire student body.

A Character Cup was presented to a student who had taken responsibility for his own holistic education and who had contributed by word and example to the creation of a healthy environment for his peers. In addition to qualities such as honesty, integrity, dependability, and courage, a Saint Stanislaus Character Cup recipient is also a young man who takes the Gospel mandate to serve others to heart. James Benigno was presented the Character Cup.

The President’s Award was presented to Corbin Blanchard in recognition of the qualities of leadership, responsibility, initiative, manners and stability.

Vincent Almerico was recognized as the class Valedictorian and Andrew Elkins was recognized as the class Salutatorian.

After receiving their diplomas the members of the Class of 2017 received their Saint Stanislaus Alumni Pin and were formally inducted into the Saint Stanislaus Alumni Association. The seniors were led in the induction by Mrs. Susan Estrade, SSC Alumni Director, Mr. Patrick Martinez, Saint Stanislaus Class of 1999 and Saint Stanislaus Alumni Association President, and Seth Taylor and Ross Wikoff, Saint Stanislaus Class of 2017 Student Council Representatives.

Graduates of the Saint Stanislaus Class of 2017:
Richard Ferrell Alarcon (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Vincent Said Almerico (Diamondhead, MS)
Robert Dominick Anderson (Mobile, AL)
James Benjamin Benigno III (Pass Christian, MS)
Peter Riley Benvenutti (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Christopher Robert Bergeron (Metairie, LA)
Corbin James Blanchard (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Myles O’Brien Brennan (Long Beach, MS)
Nathan Michael Bulot (Diamondhead, MS)
Drew Henry Burnett (Diamondhead, MS)
Wallace Glenn Carline (Jeanerette, LA)
Mark Thomas Cook (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Hunner Logan Drake (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Andrew Thomas Elkins (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Salvador John Favre Jr. (Long Beach, MS)
James Louis Gagnon (River Ridge, LA)
Matthew Joseph Guarisco (Diamondhead, MS)
Malone Howard Harrison (Gulfport, MS)
Ian Leif Hebert (Pass Christian, MS)
Nicholas Peyton Palazzo Hertz (Long Beach, MS)
Michael Patrick Ingram (Picayune, MS)
Leyton Ash Janowsky (Diamondhead, MS)
Braden Tyler Jolly (Waveland, MS)
Thomas Alejandro Keller Plocharski (Guatemala)
Chandler Laurent Kergosien (Pass Christian, MS)
Ismael Khouma (Dakar, Senegal)
Levi James Knight (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Karl Joseph Herman Krynen (Pass Christian, MS)
Conner James Kurka (Kiln, MS)
Chandler Reid Fabian Lamey (Biloxi, MS)
William Riley Lawhead (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Brendan Wallace Logan (Long Beach, MS)
Stephen Thomas Loupe II (Baton Rouge, LA)
John David Luffey (Pass Christian, MS)
Christopher Bryan Miller (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Michael Patrick Nolan (Diamondhead, MS)
Magruder Martin O’Bannon (Long Beach, MS)
Cody Daniel Peranich (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Michael Ian Pfarrer (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Darius J. Pittman (Long Beach, MS)
Patrick William Powers (Gulfport, MS)
Gaige Michael Prudhomme (Lafayette, LA)
John William Putnam (Pass Christian, MS)
Chase Andrew Rogers (Pass Christian, MS)
Connor Cooper Rolfe (Kiln, MS)
Richard Michael Schaefer (Kiln, MS)
James Francis Richey Sharp (Bay St. Louis, MS)
Pennington Christ St. Paul (Pass Christian, MS)
Seth Ellis Taylor (Kiln, MS)
Matthew Taylor Townsend (Pass Christian, MS)
Ian Michael Wadsworth (Pass Christian, MS)
Ross Elliot Wikoff (Bay St. Louis, MS)
James Tyler Wilson (Bay St. Louis, MS)

Approximately 92% of this year’s senior class of 53 has earned college scholarships totaling in excess of $16.9 million dollars and they were accepted into the following Colleges and Universities:

Arkansas State University, Auburn University, Belhaven University, Boston College, Brown University, Colorado State University, Columbia University, Cornell University, Crown College, East Mississippi Community College, Erskine College, Fairfield University, Franciscan University, Georgia Institute of Technology (Ga Tech), Houston Community College, Jones County Junior College, King’s College, Louisiana State University, Loyola University, Midway University, Millsaps College, Mississippi College, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College, Mississippi State University, New York University, Nicholls State University, Oklahoma State University, Pearl River Community College, Portland State University, Purdue University, Saint Louis University, Southeastern Louisiana University, Spring Hill College, St. John’s University (NY), Texas A&M, Texas A&M University at Galveston, Texas Christian University, Troy University, Tulane University, United States Air Force Academy, United States Merchant Marine Academy, United States Military Academy at West Point, University of Alabama-Birmingham, University of Arizona, University of California-Berkeley, University of Cincinnati, University of Georgia, University of Idaho, University of Indiana, University of Kentucky, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, University of Louisiana-Monroe, University of Memphis, University of Mississippi, University of Notre Dame, University of Oklahoma, University of Oregon, University of South Alabama, University of Southern Mississippi, University of Tennessee, University of Texas-San Antonio, University of Wisconsin, Vanderbilt University, Virginia Military Institute, Wabash College, Wake Forest University, West Virginia University, Western Kentucky University, William Carey University, Winthrop University, and Xavier University (OH).