The Rock-A-Chaw football team made its debut in 1916, and by 1919 the team was a powerhouse in the South. In 1919, the Rocks went undefeated and outscored their opponents 254 – 28. In 1941, fullback Felix “Doc” Blanchard led the 1941 football team to an undefeated regular season, the Gulf Coast Championship, and an invitation to the Toy Bowl.  Doc Blanchard went on to the U.S. Military Academy, where he was named All-American in football three times. While still a junior in 1945, Doc won the coveted Heisman Trophy as well as the Maxwell Award as America’s outstanding football player. 

This strong football tradition continues more than 100 years later. In the past ten years, six graduates have been making their marks at Division I schools, including Myles Brennan, QB – LSU, class of 2017; Ryan Gibson, OL – University of California – Berkeley, class of 2015; Jordan Bradford, DL – Louisiana Tech University, class of 2015; Darius Pittman, TE – Purdue University, class of 2017; Chase Rogers, TE – University of Louisiana-Lafayette, class of 2017; and Corbin Blanchard, WR – Air Force, class of 2017. 

In 2022, the Rock-A-Chaws finished the season with an overall record of 7-5 and 3-1 in district play. After a fierce battle with the #1 ranked Raleigh Lions, the Rock-A-Chaws fell to the Lions 30-21 in the second round of the playoffs. Among the highlights of the season were Chandler Chapman, ’23 setting a new school rushing record with 1,831 rushing yards and eight team members named to the Sun-Herald All-South Mississippi Football Team.

Students are invited to join our winning football tradition.